top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAllie

The art of trying to make friends and being yourself in the process!

Which btw I haven't really figured out... but you should read down below anyways!

Hi there! I am so thankful for all the reads and likes that I've gotten! it really is overwhelming to see how this little project is making an impact albeit a small one but its still there! I wanted to touch on a Subject that is hard for most people and if you are one of those few people (like my mom) who can make friends instantly please please please let me know your secret!



So I'm a military kid, which basically means we move a lot. I've lived in 10 houses in my entire life time which is really crazy! when I was younger I had a ton of friends, and was surrounded with things to do! but as I've gotten older and moved around more; I've become increasingly aware that making friends is way harder then walking up to someone and saying "Hey! do you wanna be my friend?" Making friends now is a maze of social anxiety, fear of rejection, And an ever increasing need for other people to validate you. And if you have this said amount of friends you are awesome right? No i don't think so validation only comes from one person and that's Jesus. Writing this I'm even having a hard time, I'm thinking; "people aren't gonna hear what I'm saying." "I will be rejected." "what if I type something wrong and i offend someone?" "what if my beliefs make other people uncomfortable?"


All these things are running through my head. These thoughts are only sparked out of fear. Which is what happens to most of us on a daily basis when we interact with the people that are standing right in front of us! Not on the internet or social media. The ones who really matter the most. Making friends in the now is really hard. Trust me I know I get all tongue tied trying to impress people hoping they will like me and not think I'm weird (being weird is kinda awesome though if I do say so myself!) it's really hard living in a world where perfection is expected. But riddle me this if everyone was the same kind of perfect how boring would our world be? the answer is realllllyyyy boring. It would be like having only one factory in the entire world producing the same kind of toy with no difference and no uniqueness! Now how many people would enjoy that? not many I tell you!



All of that to say being unique, weird and quirky is much more enjoyable to everyone then being plain old boring! If you walk in to a new situation being forced to make friends and introduce yourself (As I most of the time am... thanks mom love ya.) who are you gonna gravitate towards? The people who are milling around in the corner looking like they'd rather be anywhere else? Or the people who are going up to others and being nice and inviting, making jokes, being weird and funny? I know who I would choose in that situation.



I've been both people some days, it is very uncomfortable in new situations. I recently had an experience trying out something I hadn't done in a really long time. I hated it at first And was on the edge of tears because I had to sit up front with everyone else and I wasn't allowed to hide in the back like I usually do. No one was talking to me, they weren't even looking at me. I wanted to leave so bad. And I had the opportunity to, But I told myself I can handle this and ended up staying the whole time. Towards the end we had a time to talk and people started engaging me and made me feel more welcome. (we talked about marvel so that always helps) And now that thing is one of my favorite things to do if I would've left when I had the chance and not understood that other people feel awkward too; I would've missed out on an incredible group of people and one of my favorite things. So I am really glad I stuck that out and decided to stay with it! moral of the story is all that really matters is you to be yourself and don't let others discourage you from being you because being you is the best thing you can be!



New experiences are hard and making friends is even harder. But those things shape us as people and help us to understand what others are going through! so to sum it all up being you is much more fun then trying to be perfect or the best person out there. no one wants to be the same so stand out, put yourself out there and always ALWAYS be kind and gracious to people.You don't know their story, their hurts, or their struggles. So smile at them, ask them how they are, be friendly! (no matter how much they annoy you) always be kind you'll thank me later ;)



Thank you guys for reading I hope you enjoyed!! I now have a subscription box down at the bottom of the page and I will try to set something up to notify you when I add new posts! you can also sign up through the blog itself and i can definitely send emails through that! Thank you so much for the love and support! until next time bye!!

102 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page