top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAllie

Diary of a Zebra day 1!



Hello, my loves! Sorry my posts have been so sporadic! I have spent my week cramming to get some college scholarship essays done in time and I am dead...


Anyways today I am doing a post on my life being a zebra! I know it sounds kinda weird but let me explain: In the medical world there is a saying that doctors teach their students the saying is "if you hear hoofbeats think horses, not zebras" what that basically means is if a patient comes in and complains of a tummy ache you do the test for a stomach bug and not for a congenital stomach defect that could also be the cause of this discomfort.


In short, what that phrase is saying is don't spend to much time looking for something that isn't there. (even if it is there) Well In my case I'm the zebra.


I hinted at this briefly in my chapters of confidence tag ;) I have a condition called Ehlers-Danlos syndrome. It sounds big and scary and sometimes it can be but what that is is I was born without enough collagen and the ability to not be able to process collagen in my body. Further explanation :) Collagen is a substance that strengthens your muscles and tendons which helps to keep your joints in place and healthy! Since I don't have enough collagen in my body my joints slip and slide all over the place, I'm very prone to dislocating or having subluxations of my joints. On a daily, I'm pretty sure I subluxate at least five joints maybe more :) (that means they pop out of place and when they want to they pop back into place but only when they want to!)


This condition is pretty painful but also very humbling, its hard yes but I know I am strong and can push through it! As much as it hurts it nice to have something to remind me to look up to god and pray. I know that sounds so funny, doesn't it?? Without the hurt that comes with this condition, I wouldn't cast my fears my hurt, and my suffering upon Jesus. I would probably be like "hey god thanks for doing you but I'm just going to do me." And that's not what Jesus wants us to do. He wants us to be so in love with talking to him and coming to him with all of our problems he wants to know our hurts and what's bothering us and most of all he wants to fix it!


I've had many people ask me "why do you love a god who lets you hurt like this?" and to them, I say "My Jesus is bigger than any hurt any pain and any suffering. He died for me. He was nailed through flesh and through bone to the cross and he suffocated to death so that I would be free. Yes, I am in pain yes it's not ever fun to not be able to do normal things other people my age can do. BUT I'm not dead. And one day I will sit at the throne of my god and say 'thank you for taking this hurt away thank you for bringing me to you Jesus' and that will be worth every second of every day spent in pain" Don't get me wrong there are some days where I am in so much pain that I can't even see straight and I complain to God and ask him why I hurt like this but I'm still thankful for the blessing he is to me!


God has given me so many opportunities through this disability. he has given me the means to minister to those who are also in pain and he has also given me the wisdom to know how to take care of my body the right way and I am thankful for that!


ok, that's it for today loves! Remember you are strong wise and loved don't ever forget that! if you have any questions please feel free to put them down in the comments! i love to talk to you guys!


byyyyyyyyeeeeeeeeeeee!

39 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page